Flight One: Schmahl Goes 3-0 to Climb Above .500
Fabian Schmahl was undefeated on his court with Mary Zimmerman, Erik Simonson and Jim Heldman. Schmahl improved his record in flight one matches to 10-9, 52.63%. Simonson, a regular summer league participant, made his league debut. On another court, Doug Jones and Dave Montgomery survived triple set point before winning 7-5 against Scott Boster and Bill Boughton. Boster and Boughton returned the favor in the "for fun" set as they saved triple set point before winning 7-6. Jones was 3-0 on the court and 5-1 for the evening. Click for complete flight one results.
Shot of the Night Overshadowed by Retrieval Attempt
The shot of the night, a severely cut backspinning drop shot by Matt Allare, was overshadowed by Scott McIntosh's retrieval attempt. Allare's shot was sliced perfectly and bounced on his opponent's side of the court first before zipping back over the net to his own side. Scott McIntosh (opponent) anticipated the shot, raced toward the ball and took flight, attempting to jump over the net and strike the ball while it was still in the air. Unfortunately, McIntosh clipped the net during his attempt and subsequently face planted on the other side. After the match, a discussion took place about whether or not McIntosh's shot would have counted if successful. I was not 100% certain, but my guess is that he would have had to end the point - most likely by hitting one of his opponents - prior to landing. I think it is legal to run to your opponent's side around the net to retrieve a shot as long as you do not set foot "in bounds" on their side of the court. I could be wrong ... not like this one comes up a lot. Personally, I would have just tagged him with the ball while he was lying there bleeding, just to make sure.
UPDATE: In an APTA column about a similar retrieval - but around the net onto the opponent's side, not over the net - the question appears to be answered. The article sites this rule - This section of Rule 18 tells you what you may not do: “A team loses the point if…a player or anything the player wears or carries touches the post, net, net hand crank, cord, band or center strap, or the court surface on the opponents' side of the net, within the boundary lines, while the ball is in play.” I believe the key phrase here is - "While the ball is in play" - implying that if you could somehow end the point before you landed in bounds on the opponent's side, you'd win the point. For full article click Rules Guru.
Flight Two: Rafalo 3-0, Wilkins 5-1
Steve Rafalo evened his record at 32-32 (50.00%) by going 3-0 on a court with Kevin McClorey, David Wellinghoff and Lee Workum. Kyle Wilkins improved to 44-45 (49.44%) by playing two sessions and going 5-1. Click for full flight two results.
Since our league's mission is to "increase participation," as well as competition and camaraderie, this year we will give an "Ironman" award to the player who participates in the most sessions. The award recipient will get the same recognition and prizes as flight winners. Reliable, regular participants willing to play with players of various skill and experience levels are critical to our league's success. This award will recognize the player who has demonstrated their commitment through participation. Kyle Wilkins is currently in the lead for the award. He played his 26th and 27th flight two sessions and has played one flight one session for a total of 28. Doug Jones has played 23, Greg Carr 21, John Fovel 20, Bret Bruder 19, Steve Rafalo 18, Scott Vaaler 18 and Anthony Palmenter 17.